The Week – so far

Posted on May 3, 2024

1


I’m happy to be sitting here writing this. It’s been a busy full week. I often think how did I do this when I worked? I mean I would leave the house at say 4:45am and not return till 9pm. Then I would be up till after midnight watch Leno. Let me rephrase that. I would fall asleep during Leno and I didn’t do it every night but a few. I think I would get barley 4 hours of sleep then.

Monday was uneventful. It was Depressing Doug’s birthday, a guy I went to college with. I gave him that name b/c he was always so negative but in a good way that made me look at a few things in life. I did make it a point to welcome him to the 60’s club.

Tue I made my way to my ukulele play along. I’ve been trying desperately to learn how to strum. I am having a very hard time getting it. I really do try hard to accomplish it and the instructor, who is born and grew up in Switzerland but moved to German and then to Canada and now lives here, is a bit rough when he talks. I don’t know if it’s that hard German accent (perhaps the French accent?) but I always feel like I am getting yelled at, which I am not. We had 3 new songs we played, which went fine along with our usual pick and choose ones.
I’m glad I just started with the ukulele meeting as I just remembered to sign up for the free lunch they give once a month. Not that reek any benefits from enjoyment of the sandwiches, my sister sure did (if I didn’t mention it, it was a lobster roll). You can only sign up the first day of the month and when I just called (3 days into the month) they were not sure if it was already full.

The evening I attended the library to make a Korean locus lantern. This was actually an in-person event that was instructed through zoom with the Korean Cultural Project out of NY, I think. It was very well run and organized, unlike my local library who still have their heads up their ass, but I digress from negative comments right now about them. The lanterns are pretty easy to make and I highly suggest your local library run an event. I bet it’s not a lot of money as the Korean Cultural Project want to promote their country. Looks like (from their events calendar, they run a lot of these all over the US).

My Wed was very full. I started off make (2) flower arrangements. One I would keep and one would be given to a nursing home or hospice center. It was run through a non-profit called the Power of Flower. They repurpose flowers donated from banquets, weddings, conferences and memorial services. I am a HUGE fan of recycling and repurposing and was happy to be doing this. I even made a donation and put my name of the list to volunteer for this organization. I love this.
Right after that, I went home dropped off my flowers and ran out again to my Indian food lunch. OMG, the place was packed. Standing room to eat lunch! I couldn’t believe how packed it was. I sat next to a nice man who told me what some of the things I was eating. I had something new I never seen before. The rest I knew although someday I might remember what the correct pronunciations are.
I chewed and screwed out of there. I do this anyway but really ran out because so many people were standing up, I wanted then to sit and enjoy their lunch. The other reason is because I had to go and make a weekly donation to BINGO. Yup, another non-winning day. I figured out that in the year (it will be in July) I’ve been going I will have spent about $100 playing and I’ve won about $16. That is NOT a good return to my investment…LOL. I go to have fun with the old people. Yup, I know I am one of the old ladies.
Got home and rested about 2 hours and then off to town hall about the new 378 unit housing complex they want to put it. I think something needs to be put up, I just think this needs to be much smaller for the amount of land they have. There is a HUGE reservation that boarders me and this new development. I have to tell you the TREE HUGGERS are very powerful people when it comes to saving the trees. A group comes to every meeting, bringing lawyers, reading letters, statements, etc. I wouldn’t want to be up against these people. I tell you – they have power and they are listened to. They almost remind me of the teamsters – except they are very laid back, granola eating, Birkenstock wearing, hippy like people. I think the meeting was just over 2 hours with more meeting scheduled.
I was exhausted that night. I went to bed before 9pm and slept for a good 8 hours! It was a wonderful sleep.

Yesterday I had an easy morning…no place to be till 12:30 or so. I went to see BOYS IN THE BOAT HOUSE. Very good movie. Free, because I went to the center and I got pizza! Yeah!! I was happy. I also socialized with folks I’ve been meeting. No real connection with anyone particular but I do say hello. The reason I say no REAL CONNECTION is if they really knew me, they would of commented about my hair cutting. I went from down my back to just at my ears, which is a big change and I don’t think anyone there said a thing except the receptionist who I love! She is a very nice lady. Where I play BINGO, I can not believe how many people noticed and said something to me.

After the movie, came home and rested. I went out for an evening talk with some investment guy. I was thinking about going and mentioned it to another retiree, who retired when I did. I have known him for just about 40 years so I call him every 2-3 months and do a check up with him. He is VERY KNOWEDGEABLE on tax laws, and money investments. When I mentioned this person coming to speak he told me he know of this guy and wanted to go so I went. It was at the RICH center so there was over 100 people who came. Mostly seniors but there were a few younger folks asking financial questions. This lecture was well over my head but I listened and MAYBE learned something. I think I so the comments from the people were enlightening to me.

Today so far I’ve enjoyed a relaxing breakfast and checked my emails. I’m going to go get ready and get my oil changed, which I desperately need. Them when I get home I’ll cook and do some housework (haha).

Tomorrow I have my bi-monthly play-a-long ukulele lesson in person and then card playing at night. I get to go by that ice cream stand and see how many cars are there waiting for ice cream. It’s going to be in the 50’s so I imagine that lot will be full of cars….haha

Posted in: Uncategorized