Feast or famine

Posted on July 18, 2014

1


It’s happening again – lay offs at work. I hate when this happens – it makes you on edge with your whole day and when you are not busy engulfed in your work it’s even worse because you have time to email and instant message others and find out who got the ax.
A few weeks ago I couldn’t even think about going on vacation. I had so much work to do and everyone wants it done yesterday. I really did rearrange my vacation because of so much work. Today I was looking for things to do. I dug around and asked and asked. Finally, there is this one job I out off because the other person who has to help me is always busy. I only go on this job when I have absolutely nothing and when I do contact this guy about the job he knows I have nothing and will make time for me.
I wrote him a message that went like this:
Hey B – I am desperate for work so I need to go on V’s job and hope you can give me some time this afternoon? I’ll be totally out of work then. I did ask C about a job I was working on with him and we are waiting to hear if there is any budget for that. The good news is whenever I got on V’s job, it seems I get a flood of work right after I ask you so let’s hope it happens again since I am asking (beggin) you.
I did get a small project that should last 1-2 weeks. I also got a meeting notice about the project I rearranged my vacation for. This is a good thing too because it’s all new people I’ve never worked with before and if I make a good impression on these guys with this job and getting it done when they need it then it could be more work for me to work with them in the future!
A single girls got to keep an eye out for her future after all. I don’t have a husband to bring home the huge pay check most of my friends have.

The word of the lay offs hit the news- when that happens you know the count is high. I am always sad when anyone hits the street. As I told one friend – THAT PERSON MIGHT BE RICH OR READY FOR RETIRMENT BUT EVERYONE HAS A STORY AS TO WHY THEY ARE STILL WORKING AND WE NEVER KNOW EVERYONE’S STORY.
One lady where I work is I think 74 years old. She is an recovering alcoholic (I remember hearing through the grape vine she called her manager to bail her out from the police station as I don’t think they really keep old ladies in jail for being drunk) and has nothing in her life besides work. She is annoying and thinks she owns the world! She about 4ft 10 inches tall and wears shorts to work all year long and will tell you she has the best looking legs in the place!
Another guy got to be close to 70, was a dept manager then went into another role about 5 years back where he is making more money then ever. He travels a lot half way around the world (same place all the time). He lost a son to cancer, has a daughter and a wife. He drove a Hugo for a car and was too cheap to pay for the upgrade for an AM/FM radio so he only has an AM radio in it. I know he didn’t have AC or electric windows! His driveway at home was dirty because he said it was too expensive to pave! He’s still working. I heard a rumor he has a girlfriend on the road but he’s like a dry fish and doubt that rumor is true. For all the years I’ve known him his lunch was the same every day – sandwich wrapped in wax paper, a few cookies and apple.
Yes, everyone has a story as to why they are still working and to be laid off because the company feels you are is very sad.

Tagged: ,
Posted in: Uncategorized