INSTANT MESSAGING

Posted on July 29, 2014

0


We have instant messaging (IM for short) at work. It’s used to connect the employees and get instant answers during the work day. It is of course used for personnel reasons throughout the day. The usual Mon morning HI HOW WAS YOUR WEEKEND chat.
Everyone gets those types of IM’s but in most cases it’s used for business.
I’d like to note that this is an internal messaging system and so only employees are on this. You can also set things on this system to alert me when someone logs into IM or if I was to have a group chat. There are various features including appearing like your not on IM with certain people when you really are on IM except that person thinks you are not on IM.

There is this guy at work. He’s 60+ years old, wife is sick and daughter has graduated from college but doesn’t have a job. He’s been going around to people telling them how unhappy he is in his marriage and how mentally sick his wife is and how he’s fed up with it all. He also complains about his daughter not getting a job yet and just his life.
Everyone does this. Everyone gets it out of their system and moves on. Not this guy. Most people are nice and listen to him and when he’s done complaining he goes to the next person and tells them the same thing. This has gone on now for 2 years.
A new twist in this game is he’s fallen IN LOVE with someone at work who apparently “lead him on” as she was in the same situation in her personnel life. I know one side of the story (his side) but apparently he followed her one day at lunch when she went out with this guy who also works there. She’s been going to lunch with this guy for a few months and “they” apparently disappear for a few hours then return to work. This is all according to the unhappy guy who has been dumped by him. According to him, she toyed with him and really didn’t care for him.
What happened after he followed them is the other guy basically told him to MIND HIS OWN BUSINESS. He also constantly goes by the old guys desk and gives him dirty looks.
The old guys has told pretty much everyone what went on, and how this girl is no good and lead him on and is having an affair with the other guy. He also requested to be moved to another area, which they moved him. But the hurt the old guy has sky rocketed to the point where most of his co-workers think he’s going to go postal.
He really likes me and trusts me and everyone knows this so there were several people who have come to me and said they were going to go to HR and his boss because they were afraid something was going to happen.
I nicely would go over and talk to him and try to calm him down and tell him to lower his voice because everyone can hear him. Most of the time he would calm down.
In Jan he was agitated again and even though I wasn’t stilling in the area as I was working off site, people would be IM me about him going nuts. I made a special trip to his desk to talk to him about taking a few weeks off to clear his head and get back to normal. I told him people are worried.
That night, I called his older brother and told him what was going on and how people actually came to me and told me they were going to go to HR. I didn’t want this guy to get fired as he is a good worker. I figured his brother could get him grounded. This actually wasn’t my best ideas.
That night, after I went to bed, on facebook, he bitched me out and unfriended me. Then when I got to work, I got a call from his boss saying they were going to move him again to yet another area and not to contact him. His boss knows I was trying to help him keep his job. I told his boss I was fine with it, that I wasn’t mad at this guy and I liked him as a person. The old guy disappeared from my IM also. I guess this is his way of unfriending me at work. Again I was fine with it.
Every time I saw his boss I’d ask how the old guy was and let the boss know I wasn’t mad at him and wished him nothing but good things and always mention he’s still not on my IM.
Well today I got a message saying something like this:
I HOPE YOU ARE ALL HAPPY WITH WHAT YOU DID TO ME. NOW MARY, JOE AND HARRY AREN’T TALKING TO ME ALOMG WITH MO, LARRY AND CURLY. THEY ALL HAVE DISAPPEARED FROM MY IM BECAUSE OF WHAT I’VE BEEN SAYING TO THEM BEHIND HIS BACK.
He then went off line from my IM.
This happened at the end of the day but his boss was on IM so I messaged his boss asking if something triggered off the old guy. He said everything was fine and then I asked if he also got a message from the old guy and he said no. I then screenshot the message the old guy sent me to his boss. Then the boss asked me to call him.
I guess everyone’s so sick and tired of hearing him and no one wants to get messages about his life and all disappeared from his IM and he’s blaming me. I told his boss I have not been in the area for 7 months and never call people up to talk about him or tell people not to talk to him anymore. He did it to himself. He wants to blame me for some reason and with all my bullshit I got going on at home I said to his boss I did nothing to trigger this guy, nor have I talked to him or anyone else about him and if he wants to start with me and make trouble I’ll take the IM he sent me and go to HR and they can deal with him.
Apparently his boss got off his ass and told the old guy I was ripe shit and to straighten out. I was rip shit just because I didn’t do anything.
I wouldn’t turn him in to HR but I don’t want to be involved with his games. He’s a nice guy going through tough times but I didn’t do anything to hurt him.
He called my house and my mother was on the phone and apparently no one has his phone number. Guess I should go on facebook and face the shit tonight. I don’t want this to go on at work.

Posted in: Uncategorized